Environmental

Global businesses must navigate a complex and constantly changing set of requirements from U.S. and China EPAs to EU directives related to air and water pollution and radiation. To ensure strict compliance and reporting with minimal impact on operational efficiency and profitability, we provide a range of analytical technologies designed around the unique requirements of your industry. Our air, water, soil, and radiation technologies provide reliable, accurate, and precise results that can make compliance simpler and help minimize regulatory risks.

Upcoming webinars

       

Solvent-free Infrared Method

Wednesday, April 22, 2015 at 9:00 am EDT/13:00 GMT and 11:00 am EDT/15:00 GMT

 

Going Green for Earth Day: New Solvent-free Infrared Method for Oil & Grease in Water



 

Learn about oil & grease pollution regulatory overview; review of past and current methodology; ASTM D7575 Standard Method operation, data analysis, and validation; and real-world applications.

 

April 28, 2015 at 8:00 am PST/11:00 am EST/3:00 pm GMT/4:00 pm CET

 

Demystifying Sample Preparation for Trace Metal Analysis: How Automation Can Make Light Work Of the Sample-to-Results Workflow 

Inductively-Coupled-Plasma-Mass-Spectrometry-ICP-MS-CatSrch

 

Rapid and consistent sample preparation is a key requirement in ensuring good data quality and fast sample turnaround times in trace metal analysis. In this webinar, our experts will discuss the application and benefits of an intelligent on-line autodilution system for rapid and efficient analysis of challenging samples.  

water with little waves

April 23 at 8:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST

 

 

Analytical Methods for Semi-Targeted Screening of Pharmaceuticals and Illicit Drugs in Complex Environmental Samples

The true breadth of pharmaceutical and illicit drug residue contamination within an aqueous environment can often be underestimated, due to the use of targeted analytical approaches for just a small number of compounds. The use of high resolution mass spectrometry (HRMS) as an analytical tool helps to address this issue, but chromatographic retention time is still often required to confirm drug occurrence. There may potentially be thousands of compounds that do not have reference standards commercially available to make a confirmation

Featured application note

 

Low-Level Measurement of Oil and Grease in Water Using Solvent-Free Infrared Analysis Method ASTM D7575

Water quality testing is of great importance to address environmental and health concerns. A critical component being analyzed is hydrocarbons resulting from oil and grease contamination.

 

Read more

Customer Testimonial

    

Bay Area Municipality

Learn how the Thermo Scientific Dionex Autotrace 280 system simplifies sample preparation for environmental testing 

New applications compendium


This compendium provides access to a wide-range of Environmental testing application notes and methods developed using LC, GC and IC and MS techniques. The compendium is easily searchable by compound class or matrix. Browse within the over 300-page interactive compendium for pesticides, PPCPs, polyhalogenated compounds, marine toxins, and contaminants of emerging concern.

 

View the entire compendium

AD63340_MS-Applications_Compendium_150x150_R2 (2)

Featured article

   


Going mobile—portable equipment for water testing in the field
As water systems face increasing pressure to improve quality while reducing costs, having a full complement of mobile testing gear could very well be the best way to achieve both. While laboratory work is critical in the field of water and wastewater (WW) treatment, a good deal of data measurement occurs away from the confines of research facilities.

Water analysis and air quality

   

Water analysis
Enhancing the quality of our global water resources with easy-to-use laboratory and portable water testing solutions.

Air quality monitoring
Better health protection through improved air quality with emissions systems, gas analyzers, and portable monitors.

Soil testing

   


Environmental soil testing

Identify the scope and boundaries of contaminated sites with fast, powerful, and accurate hand-held soil analyzers.